The Name of the Charity

Patrick Rothfuss just became my favorite currently producing author in the fantasy genre. This, fortunately, means I can currently exclude Terry Pratchett who I do not believe will be publishing any more books, sadly. Otherwise there would need to be some kind of literary throwdown between Rothfuss, Neil Gaiman, and Terry Pratchett.

But get this: Rothfuss only has two published books. Only one of them is a novel. The other is a collection his humor columns in a newspaper from his younger days, and will be heretofore ignored. The novel is The Name of the Wind, which is easily the best fantasy novel published in the last decade. Possibly even the last two decades (let’s call that through 1990). I don’t say that lightly.

How good does one book need to be to make a man my favorite currently producing author? Pretty awsome, and that’s why it’s not the only reason, despite the fact I’m now reading it for the third time. I almost never read books multiple times.

Patrick Rothfuss has risen in my esteem because he is currently offering prizes for anyone who donates to Heifer International through his page, and matching donations. I’ve been making fairly regular donations to Heifer for years, but to have the opportunity to win such prizes as signed books, early manuscripts, and other paraphenalia while doing it is beyond cool.

Unfortunately, I don’t have thousands of dollars I can donate. But if you do (or even just hundreds, or tens… everyone has ten dollars they can donate, right?), please do so. Read his blog for details, or just go to his team page to donate. And if you just want to have your donation doubled and don’t care about the prizes, feel free to give me your prizes. It’s no trouble really… That and the fact that I don’t actually own a copy of the book yet mean I would love for my first to have a signature with some cool dedication.

3 thoughts on “The Name of the Charity

  1. That is a great charity! I love it because it empowers those in need to make a better life for themselves and their families.

    If I win something, you can have it. Don’t hold your breath though, I’m not very lucky at winning things!

    🙂

  2. Thank you very much. The children thank you too. /cliche

    I’m not very good at winning things, but I’m very good at winning things through other people. For example, every time I’ve attended an event with a date and there has been a raffle, my date has won something. Every single time. Sometimes she gave it to/shared it with me.

Leave a Reply

