Anticipation

I can’t understand people who say “I’m just waiting until MM/DD/YYYY, then I can [verb phrase- relax, have fun again, be with you, etc.]” Why are they doing whatever they’re doing until then if they’d rather be doing something else? A friend of mine recently advocated the Gap Year- a year off to work (or do other things) between high school and college in order that people might figure out why they’re going to college. Why wouldn’t someone know? Why would anyone do something just because “that’s what’s next.” The notion that someone might go to high school just to go to college, and to college just because they don’t have any better ideas repulses me.

4 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. Sometimes people just don’t know what they want to do with their lives. I certainly don’t. It’s best not to rush, because if it turns out that you go to college and DON’T know what you want to do, you may end up with something you hate. It’s not the reason FOR going to college (it’s always the same: further education), but WHAT they’re planning to do once they get there. The difference is small, but it can really impact your life later on.

    I’m going to highschool because I want to learn, and college because a) I want to learn MORE and b) I don’t want to be stuck working at a tollbooth or a McDonald’s drive-in for the rest of my life. Everyone is different, though. There is no need to be repulsed.

  2. Hehe, I’m going to repulse you.

    I’m big on the Gap year idea. When I was 17 I had no clue what I wanted to do as a job (I want to be an author, but I’m talking about the nine to five). So instead of going to university and just picking something willy nilly I went and got a job. I’ve been to europe twice since then and I’ve never made a better decision in my life.

    I’ve watched friends drop out or finish courses and go ‘i hate this’ or ‘there’s no jobs’ and have to start another course. I’d rather know what I want before making a big commitment and also have the maturity to weigh up whether there are job opportunities in the field I like.

  3. Yes, but what about when we know what we want to do but not how to go about it? I agree with you here — “The notion that someone might go to high school just to go to college, and to college just because they don’t have any better ideas repulses me.”– completely. But right now I’m in college being somewhat stymied as to how to do what I want, and wondering if a year off to formulate a plan of attack would have ultimately served me well.

  4. Whether or not you know what you want to do, it might be best to stay in school while you think it through. A basic education is important, and after you get a better idea of what you’d like your future to be like, you can narrow the focus of your classes. Don’t pull a tree up by the roots just to see if it’s still growing.

Leave a Reply

